skip to Main Content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Colin Meloy: “The Stars Did Wander Darkling” with Isaac Fitzgerald

September 19 @ 8:00 pm - 9:30 pm

$10 – $22.99

Books Are Magic Presents Colin Meloy: The Stars Did Wander Darkling, with Isaac Fitzgerald

“A fun, creepy, attention-grabbing story… with a classic feel.” —Kirkus Reviews

A suspenseful and atmospheric horror set in 1980s Oregon, perfect for fans of Stranger Things, Neil Gaiman, and Margaret Peterson Haddix, from New York Times bestselling author and the Decemberists’ front man Colin Meloy.

Maybe Archie Coomes has been watching too many horror movies.

All of a sudden, the most ordinary things have taken on a sinister edge: a penny on a doormat. A man in a brown suit under a streetlamp. The persistent sound of an axe chopping in the middle of the night. He keeps telling himself that this is Seaham, a sleepy seaside town where nothing ever happens. Or at least nothing did, until his dad’s construction company opened up the cliff beneath the old—some say cursed—Langdon place.

Soon, though, he and his friends can’t deny it: more and more of the adults in town are acting strangely. An ancient, long-buried evil has been unleashed upon the community, and it’s up to the kids to stop it before it’s too late.…

 

Colin Meloy is the author of The Whiz Mob and the Grenadine Kid and the New York Times bestselling Wildwood Chronicles, as well as two picture books, The Golden Thread: A Song for Pete Seeger and Everyone’s Awake! He is also the singer and songwriter for the indie rock band the Decemberists. Colin lives in Oregon with his wife and frequent collaborator, illustrator Carson Ellis, and their sons.

Isaac Fitzgerald appears frequently on The Today Show and is the author of the bestselling children’s book How to Be a Pirate as well as the co-author of Pen & Ink and Knives & Ink (winner of an IACP Award). His writing has appeared in The New York Times, The Guardian, The Best American Nonrequired Reading, The Boston Globe, and numerous other publications. He lives in Brooklyn.

Details

Date:
September 19
Time:
8:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Cost:
$10 – $22.99
Event Category:
Website:
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/offsite-colin-meloy-the-stars-did-wander-darkling-w-isaac-fitzgerald-tickets-395957709167

Organizer

Books are Magic
Website:
https://booksaremagic.net/

Venue

St. Ann & the Holy Trinity Church
157 Montague Street
Brooklyn, NY 11201 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
718-875-6960
Website:
stannholytrinity.org
Back To Top