skip to Main Content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

R. F. Kuang: “Yellowface” with Peng Shepherd

May 16, 2023 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

$10.89

What’s the harm in a pseudonym? Bestselling sensation Juniper Song is not who she says she is, she didn’t write the book she claims she wrote, and she is most certainly not Asian American—in this chilling and hilariously cutting novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author R. F. Kuang in the vein of White Ivy and The Other Black Girl.

Authors June Hayward and Athena Liu were supposed to be twin rising stars: same year at Yale, same debut year in publishing. But Athena’s a cross-genre literary darling, and June didn’t even get a paperback release. Nobody wants stories about basic white girls, June thinks.

So when June witnesses Athena’s death in a freak accident, she acts on impulse: she steals Athena’s just-finished masterpiece, an experimental novel about the unsung contributions of Chinese laborers to the British and French war efforts during World War I.

So what if June edits Athena’s novel and sends it to her agent as her own work? So what if she lets her new publisher rebrand her as Juniper Song—complete with an ambiguously ethnic author photo? Doesn’t this piece of history deserve to be told, whoever the teller? That’s what June claims, and the New York Times bestseller list seems to agree.

But June can’t get away from Athena’s shadow, and emerging evidence threatens to bring June’s (stolen) success down around her. As June races to protect her secret, she discovers exactly how far she will go to keep what she thinks she deserves.

With its totally immersive first-person voice, Yellowface takes on questions of diversity, racism, and cultural appropriation not only in the publishing industry but the persistent erasure of Asian-American voices and history by Western white society. R. F. Kuang’s novel is timely, razor-sharp, and eminently readable.

Rebecca F. Kuang is a Marshall Scholar, translator, and the Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and World Fantasy Award nominated author of the Poppy War trilogy and the #1 New York Times bestselling Babel. She has an MPhil in Chinese Studies from Cambridge and an MSc in Contemporary Chinese Studies from Oxford; she is now pursuing a PhD in East Asian Languages and Literatures at Yale.

Peng Shepherd is the nationally bestselling, award-winning author of The Book of M, The Cartographers, and The Future Library. Her novels have been named a Best Book of the Year by The Washington Post, Elle, and The Verge, a Best Book of the Summer by the Today Show and NPR, a Pick of the Month by Good Morning America, and optioned for television. She was born and raised in Phoenix, Arizona, where she rode horses and trained in classical ballet, and has lived in Beijing, Kuala Lumpur, London, New York, and Mexico City.

Details

Date:
May 16, 2023
Time:
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Cost:
$10.89
Event Category:
Website:
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/offsite-r-f-kuang-yellowface-w-peng-shepherd-tickets-566809090247

Organizer

Books are Magic
View Organizer Website

Venue

St. Ann & the Holy Trinity Church
157 Montague Street
Brooklyn, NY 11201 United States
+ Google Map
Phone
718-875-6960
View Venue Website
Back To Top